This model has been developed by examined human behaviors. Just about all people experience the same process. The model has been created as 3 parts.

Part-1 is Before Change

Part-2 is During Change

Part-3 is After Change

It also was found the 2 giving up period. One of them realizes in Before Change Part. The other realizes in During Change Part.

Most people give up for they can’t understand these stages. The change is easier in the beginning. In the progressing process, they start to more have difficulties.

The most difficult place is the threshold point. For example, let’s think of a climber. If this person gives up on the left of the mountain by thinking about the current difficulty he/she won’t achieve his/her target. Whereas in actually the convenience wait for her/his after the peak point. But he/she can’t understand that and he/she gives up from that. Loses there. The biggest mistake here is to suppose that this will never end.

Change is a complex process that goes from easy to difficult. It gets harder as it gets close to the result. Certainly, not understand the course is the biggest obstacle in front of the change. Inability to see the progress causes to give up. The ability to predict the next phase provides keep going with struggle.

Here, The Model of Bozkurt has created from these problems.


1. Unconsciousness Stage

At this stage, the person is not aware of anything and continues daily life. Meanwhile, it collects various pieces of information and experiences.

2. Doubt Stage

The collected pieces of information is place to folders by brain at Doubt Stage. The brain classifies learned the experiences and the pieces of information by building relationship. At this phase, the brain can’t understand the unaccustomed pieces of information and experiences. The brain cannot classify them because it sees them as strangers. In this way, the doubt starts. It has a tendency to classify structurally. These unaccustomed pieces of information and experiences create a chaos in the brain.

3. Awareness Stage

The brain wants to regulate and change, but meanwhile, chaos is getting bigger. When the chaos forces the brain, it starts to investigate. Part of it happens with consciousness, part of it with unconscious. It begins with one’s conscious effort, but the subconscious of the person investigates many combinations related to this event in the progressing process. Additionally, in this stage, there are making relationships and decompositions in the mind. At the ending of this process, the light bulb lights up.

The person begins to think with awareness brought by information and experiences. After this point, the person begins to understand by questioning and to gather information with awareness.

First Abandonment Period:

The first giving up realizes in this period. The person thinks that he/she can’t do it. “It’s very hard. It’s impossible. Nobody can.” after gaining awareness.

4. Acceptance Stage:

At the ending of the researching and understanding process, the person discovers a real. Then the person verifies that. Meanwhile, the acceptance is realized.

5. Preparation Stage:

The person begins to take the first step after the new-real is accepted. At this stage, the person leaves the questioning then he/she starts to research how the changing can realize. The person becomes ready to change precisely after the obtained findings.

6. Change Stage:

This stage is where the change begins seriously after the preparations. Once again, the person experiences chaos like in The Doubt Stage. But this time the chaos is not in his/her mind; it is in his/her actions. The person experiences great uneasiness. With the onset of change, difficulties begin to come quickly. Anymore the change has started.

7. Adaptation Stage

The person gets hard in his/her actions after the change began. He/she experiences stress and anxiety very much. Horror and anxiety emotions increase. One may lose self-confidence.

Second Abandonment Period:

The person wants to abandonment because of the difficulties. Most of the cognitive change decisions are not related to real life. The person starts to doubt yourself. The person begins to doubt himself/herself and thinks that himself/herself decisions are wrong. The source of this thought is false beliefs about change. The change does not realize easily and in a short time.

The person wants abandonment because he/she thinks cannot cope with difficulties and crisis management. In actually,  this stage is the most real stage as much as it is the most difficult stage of the change. The future of the change plan depends on this stage.

One can achieve the change that does not stumble upon this stage.

8. Protection & Persistence Stage

At this last stage, the aim is protection and continuation of the change. Sometimes the person may repeat his/her previous behaviors from the change. This is “I wonder. Didn’t I change?” It creates doubt. In this case, the person should just “keep going“. Because the change never happens 100%. Life is an action event. We are not robots. We may make mistakes. One may make minor or major mistakes even after the change process. Here the important thing is the person can determine the reasons of the failure periods.

The change process never ends. It continues lifelong by rebuilding. They cannot do the change action who they do not reach this stage. If they can reach this last stage, they changed. But they should continue to stay at change mood for not return to old status. Because the change does not happen suddenly. It is a lifestyle.

If 2 steps forward and 1 step back = You are successful.

As a final word, the change is possible, but it depends on how much you desire.

This word is wrong “I can’t change myself”. You have to say: I really don’t want it.

Change never comes to us.

We have to get it.

The voice of change is low.

There is no fatigue of change.

Never forget!

The Change is the first step in self-realization. You will take a step later and one more, one more, one more … (This is the subject of another writing)

I’m changing because I have to change …

Thank you for your interest. It increases as you share information. See you in next the article.